Chaplin Award Gala Diner


  • Chaplin Smile

In addition to publishing the award-winning Film Comment magazine, The Film Society recognizes an artist's unique achievement in film with the prestigious Chaplin Award. The Film Society's state-of-the-art Walter Reade Theater and the Elinor Bunin Munroe Film Center, located at Lincoln Center, provide a home for year-round programs and the New York City film community.

Charles Chaplin, who returned to the US from exile to accept the commendation, was the first to be honored by the Film Society of Lincoln Center in 1972. Since then, the award has been renamed for Chaplin, and has honored many of the film industry’s most notable talents, including for instance Alfred Hitchcock, Martin Scorsese, Michael Douglas and many others.

Therefore, the occasion of the Chaplin Award Gala Dinner organized on April 28th by the Film Society of Lincoln Center is definitely an appropriate moment to celebrate the 100th anniversary of Chaplin’s “Little Tramp”.